Southern India has always been enchanting to me. Being a north Indian, I share a completely different culture with them but that doesn’t stop me from making trips to south India every once in a while. This time around, I chose to spend some time in Trivandrum and Kanyakumari. I flew down from Delhi to Trivandrum in a not so long flight of a few hours. From the plane itself, as I looked down through the window, the forests and sceneries of Trivandrum began appearing in front of my eyes. It was beautiful; I knew in that instant that I was in for a treat.

kerala holiday package

However, I decided to visit Kanyakumari first. I found out that it was at a distance of about 67 kilometres from the airport. That meant a 2 hour long drive. I took it and reached there to witness the power of the nature’s beauty. Its a small city named after the famous Devi  Kanya Kumari Temple, in the south Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Tourism is the biggest source of income here and the thrilling thing I noticed about the city in the first view is that, on every single street, you will find people speaking in many different Indian languages. I have heard a lot about the astonishing scenes of sunrise and sunset here and when I felt it with my own eyes, I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was out of this world and the vast ocean was complementing the scenery quite efficiently and elegantly.

 Thiruvananthapuram

When my tour officially began, I began to realise the importance of the city when it comes to conservation of art and culture. There are a lot of things to watch while prime among them were the Thiruvalluvar statue, Vivekananda Rock Memorial, Gandhi Memorial, Tsunami Memorial Park, Bhagavathy Amman Temple and Kamarajar Mani Mantapa Monument. All in all, it was a very fun trip.

kanyakumari

It was the time for me to leave this beautiful city but one thing is for sure, I am never forgetting the sunset view that I saw there, it was on my mind the whole time I was in my car driving back to Trivandrum.

In Kerala, you never fell tired of watching the wonders of nature, the eccentric waterfalls, dense forests, different rare breeds of animals and birds, hills, rivers, lakes. Nature has made Kerala an ‘easy on the eye’ place. Trivandrum has a lot to offer to the tourists. Also known as Thiruvananthapuram, this is one of the top 10 greenest cities of India. The greenery here is far more real and in the raw form than any other place in the country. And Kerala being the most literate state in the country, ample number of educational institutes are here.

kerala backwaters,Shanghumugham Beach, Napier museum and Zoo, Agasthyarkoodam peak, Neyyar Wildlife Sanctuary and Neyyar Dam, Kuthira Malika palace, Sree Padmanabhaswamy temple, Ponmudi, Poovar, Varkala Cliffs and beaches are some of the many places to visit in and around the city.

